A day of Firsts

So we attended the Photomonth Fair and had a really good time . We had no idea what to expect as we’d never done anything like this before so what did we think, why did we do it  . To answer those questions here’s a Q & A

GM: Why did you decide to attend Photomonth?

CM: Well we thought it would be fun. I’d still be doing ‘Sligital’ work anyway so it’s not like I had to do anything different apart from producing more prints than I normally would ( we only have so much wall space at home). We’d attended a local Art Fair which prompted us to go ahead as we thought it looked fun. I really wanted to engage with people to find out what they really thought of my work.

GM: Er but why Photomonth?

CM: Well I went looking for  an appropriate outlet and Photomonth sounded as if it might be a good one. That together with the fact we both hail from that part of London ( or very close by anyway) helped make up our mind.

GM: So what were your expectations of the day?

CM: To enjoy it and to actually hear what people thought of my work . The selling of the prints was very low down on the list  to be honest . I had no idea what to expect so experiencing something new was up there as well. Oh and to have a look around as if I wasn’t manning a stall myself I’d have gone anyway 🙂

GM: So were your expectations met then?

CM: Absolutely and we even managed to sell some prints as well which was  a nice bonus to the day. I had some great conversations with a wonderful cross section of people who stopped by to mostly admire my work and to discuss  how  it was done.

GM: Mostly admire?

CM: Yes most of the people who passed by appreciated the work and the words ‘Cool’, ‘Innovative’ , ‘Clever’ , ‘Well done’, ‘Good’  were appreciated but the other feedback was equally as appreciated. ‘Very strange, very uncomfortable’ ‘I’m not sure how I feel about these’. One of my favourites was from a  passing Dermatologist who said what’s the theme skin diseases

GM (interrupting): I know what he means about the ones he was obviously referring to as  they make me squirm too

CM: Anyway  he went onto explain he was fascinated by the work but his work and his simple tastes meant not really for him… So it was nice to know from the few  not so as positive comments that I was producing challenging work.

GM: So how did you find the organisation and setting up of our stand  at Photomonth?

CM: The organisers were great . We appreciated them coming round  a couple of times to ask us if we were having a good day which was nice. The obvious time and energy  that had gone into organising it was evident as well. Next time we’ll have some idea of how to set up a stand though  as our newbie credentials were on display for all to see ( Thanks to the couple opposite though for giving us confidence that it looked okay eventually) we  definitely need more stands for the display photos, maybe some meat hook type hangers would be useful as well. We did have a complete change of plan when we got there as to how we would set it up but it all seemed to work as the limited editions  did stand out and pulled people down to look at the standard prints and to talk to us.

GM: We seemed to do a lot of explaining of the technique do you think  perhaps some info on explaining how it’s done would have been useful?

CM: Actually no as it was good opener for having conversations with people I think if we’d had some sort of flyer or something explaining we wouldn’t have spoken to many of the passers bye.  I have explained in more detail on the website  as well though and one of my earlier blog posts. In fact I had a nice conversation with someone about what cameras would be good for a beginner .It  as an excuse to talk to fellow enthusiasts .

GM: So what part of the day did you find nerve wracking

CM: The first few hours were very quiet and although selling prints wasn’t the main reason we were there for some reason we both wanted to break that duck. So the wait to sell our first print was very surreal but once we’d got over that we really didn’t care if we didn’t sell another one although when we did it was a  nice feeling as somewhere we know that someone will have a copy of my work and we sold it to them personally not via impersonal clicks via our website .

GM: Were you surprised at the prints that were the most popular?  The ‘Money shot’ seemed particular popular and we sold out of those

CM: Well I think it was the humour in that shot so it was easier to get into than some of my other prints which do tend to have an edgier feel. So on reflection perhaps not

GM: Was there anything particular about photomonth you really liked

CM: The fact there was so many film cameras around . My love of film which is reflected in what I do anyway but I’ve never seen so many film cameras in one place

GM ( interrupting again): Apart from home obviously!

GM:  So big question would you do something like this again?

CM: Definitely. It was like having a mini exhibit with people actually being able to engage with Me. It was tiring though although time did fly past once the first print went and the fair came to life for us. In fact if Photomonth will have me next year I’d definitely do it again .

~ by sligital on October 10, 2010.

Leave a Reply

 
